It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2007, 08:17 AM   #1
(female)

Peepers HB User
Muscle or spine... how do you know?

I've been dealing with fairly severe lower back pain for about 5 days now. I've tried OTC pain relievers, heating pad, massage cushion - nothing helps for more than a few minutes. There are times during the day when the pain is greater, and times it's not as bad - I even managed to do a LIGHT exercise video yesterday... in January, I finally got off my lazy butt & started exercising & dieting (I'm not technically overweight, but could stand to lose about 10 lbs)... so I hate to start taking days off due to back pain, because I'm afraid I'll lose my momentum and quit exercising altogether.

FYI - the exercising I've been doing is not very strenuous, in my book. Mostly walking/jogging on my treadmill, with an aerobics video now & then to keep it interesting.

Anyway...

Is there any way for me to tell whether my pain is muscular or not? If it's an actual problem with my spine, would the pain or my range of movement be somehow *different* than if it were a strained muscle? Just trying to decide whether I should go see my chiro, my family dr, or just suck it up until it gets better on its own... if it will. If this is a strained muscle... when should it start feeling better?

There's probably no easy answer here, but at least this gave me a chance to just vent about it a little. Thanks for "listening!"

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-21-2007, 08:25 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

ms_west HB User
Re: Muscle or spine... how do you know?

My vote is to go see your general practioner and to ease off on the exercising and let your back heal.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-21-2007, 08:29 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

yvette777 HB User