It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2007, 08:08 PM   #1
(female)

Shannamae HB User
newbie here

Hi I had back surgery almost 2 years ago, on my lower back. I had been having severe sciatica pain and the doctor felt that I needed to have the surgery. The surgery went fine and I have been feeling great. Last week, I started getting severe pain shooting through my lower back down my legs. It felt like someone had taken a shock paddle and sent electricity through my body. The pain was so severe that I fell to the ground. I am continuously getting these burst of severe pain where I can not stand. I went to the doctor today and they think I may have re-herniated the disk. Does anyone know what will happen now? I am already tired of the pain...

Old 02-27-2007, 08:21 PM   #2
(female)

bailey17 HB User
Re: newbie here

Shannamae,
I had a re-herniation and just had a second surgery (laminectomy)on Jan 25th. I can only tell you what happend to me. When I contacted my surgeon initially after having pain again I was put on Steroids and pain meds, then started pysical therapy. When none of those helped at all and the pain was getting worse instead of better I had a second MRI done and then had the second surgery.
I feel 5 million times better now (knock on wood) I hope the same will happen for you. Wising you a pain free night!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-27-2007, 08:23 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Justoneofus HB User

Well Shanna.. can you tell us what type of surgery you had.. that is important info to know.. as there are many different types.

I am going on the assumption you had a disectomy of sorts if they are stating possible reherniation.

Well, if this is the case, you could be in for meds, injections, PT, and or a "redo" surgery, and or/ possible fusion depending on what is going on in there now.