It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2007, 11:17 PM   #1
(male)

Dnunan28 HB User
I'm so confused and scared

Greetings, first time here writing, been reading lots and lots of posts and answered a lot of questions. Thanks to all.

I have been told I need an Anterior Lumbar Fusion W/Cages at levels L-4-5 and 6 (yes six, they told me I have an extra lumbar disc) and they might also go to S-1 once they get in there and dig around. My Neurologist told me my insurance covers a single disc replacement, but he refuses to do them due to recent complications hes heard of with them failing. He gave me the option of waiting for a year or maybe 2 and they might have a fda approval for more levels and a better replacement. I dont know if I can wait that long, I have horrible pains in lower and mid back, with radiation down the butt cheeks and upper legs, and now numbness on right thigh and pains in both heels. My wife was first gung ho for me to get the fusion NOW, but after going in and seeing the general surgeon who will move all my intestines around for the neuro to get in and do his thing, shes changed her mind and thinks I should wait, cause Ill be down for so long and not be able to the stuff I enjoy in the spring and summer, like gardening, camping etc...

So now I cant make up my mind. This neurologist was the second opinion and hes ready to go as soon as I call him and schedule. I cant stay on the drugs for another year or 2 waiting. The med's are driving me nuts cause I have to take so many through out the day, I open my cabinent and I could open a drug store.

So I know the decision is ultimately mine to make, I just need to know that I'm making the right decision, cause I cant take it back once it's done!!