It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2007, 02:40 PM   #1
(male)

TwoWorms HB User
Fusion April 2nd - Slightly Freaked Out

I'm a 34 year old male in pretty good shape going in for a single level fusion April 2nd. Not sure what numbers to throw out there (S-number, L-whatever) but it's the lowest fusion you can have. They are going in only from the back, and I'm getting some hardware with screws. I had a micro-diskectomy last October, and was back to work in 8 days. I am an IT manager, so I sit at my desk a majority of the time.

I do feel good about the neuro surgeon. He's Dr. Harold Young of the Dr Harold Young Department of Neurosurgery at the Medical College of Virginia (MCV). But there are still so many unknowns, which is what bothers me the most. Hopefully some folks here may be able to provide some answers. Obviously, I know that everyone is different, but I'm just looking for opinions and experiences.

Time spent in bed - After surgery, how long, usually, do most people have to spend the majority of their day in bed? Is it horribly uncomfortable to try and sit on the couch right after surgery? If I end up bed-ridden for a length of time, does anyone know of an inexpensive stand/table top to use in bed with the laptop? Got to have my World Of Warcraft time.

Time out of work - For those of you that have mainly desk jobs, how long was it before you went back to work?

Things to make life easy during recovery - I've read the sticky, but does anyone else have any other tips? Gadgets or whatnot?

Getting around during recovery - How soon should I expect before I can make it around the house with any type of ease?

Thanks to anyone taking the time to read and comment. I'm just looking to fill some voids in knowledge I have concerning all this.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-10-2007, 02:46 PM   #2
(female)