It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2007, 02:23 PM   #1
Inactive
(female)

maggieloop HB User
Chronic Back Pain, need advice

Hi,

I've been reading these boards for about a month now and this is my first time posting. I have been suffering from major back/hip/sciatic pain since the birth of my 2nd daughter in April 2006. I gave birth to my 3rd daughter 2-1/2 weeks ago and am having even more pain.Here is a brief (I'll try to keep it brief) background of my problems:

Sept 2003 (7 months pregnant): I fell down a flight of stairs at the house and broke my right ankle, sprained both knees and sprained my left ankle. After the birth of my daughter in Nov 2006 I had slight back pain, but nothing that I needed to seek medical help for.

April 2006: I had an epidural (thus could feel nothing) and hubby dropped my right leg between contractions and it swung back and forth 4 times before the nurse and he noticed and put the leg in the stirrups. I had the epidural then pain meds while in the hospital and felt no pain in my back (or anywhere for that matter); however, 2 days after going home I was in such pain that I couldn't stand straight up and I shuffled instead of walked. My pain was in my lower back and I had sciatic pain in the right leg. For this I was prescribed oxycodone (which got switched to hydrocodone since the oxy made me loopier than normal) and an MRI. The MRI didn't show anything wrong. I also went to PT, which didn't really do much of anything (I could do the pilates at home for free).

September 2006: Found out I was pregnant again and I stopped taking valium (for muscle spasms) and hydrocodone. I then started taking the hydros again during the 2nd trimester due to terrible pain in my back/hips/leg.