It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2008, 09:46 PM   #1
(female)

SherriX2 HB User
told I needed an Anterior Lumbar Interbody Fusion

Hi newbie here

I have had back pain for years.

After several test,I was told about 2 weeks ago that an Anterior Lumbar Interbody Fusion on L5/S1 would relieve a lot of my pain.L3 & L4 are bad too.(I have DDD in L3 to S1)

Can someone tell me all about the ALIF? Pros and Cons?

I had a complete abdominal hyster. on Oct 1st and 2 c-sections before that,so I have been cut wide open before.

I have 2 children,one is 18 and one is 8.The 18 year old leaves for college in Aug.

I'm trying to figure out the best time to have the ALIF. I do have the 8 yr to take of,I drive her to & from school everyday.The bus to her school doesnt come by our house (school starts up again late aug)

How long will I be out?

I'm going to met with my doc in Oct but I have tons of questions before the meeting so I joined this site

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-21-2008, 07:25 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

BlueAtlas HB UserBlueAtlas HB UserBlueAtlas HB UserBlueAtlas HB UserBlueAtlas HB UserBlueAtlas HB UserBlueAtlas HB User
Re: told I needed an Anterior Lumbar Interbody Fusion

Hi Sherri, and welcome to the board!