It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2009, 10:53 AM   #1
(female)

Stonepile HB User
Question Three doctors and no answer for severe hot flashes/night sweats after C5-C7 ACDF.

I had my C5 - C7 ACDF with plate (I'm a newbie and don't know all the correct terminology you all use) about five weeks ago. I consider the surgery absolutely a miracle! My severe pain, numbness and muscle spasms were all gone as soon as I woke up from surgery. However, within twenty-four hours I started having hot flashes even while I was still in the hospital. For about three weeks I had about 15 of these a night and I'd wake up drenched and so hot I couldn't stand it. Then I'd throw the cover or sheet off and within a few minutes I had goose bumps and was freezing cold and I'd put the sheet over me again. Needless to say I was exhausted because I couldn't get good sleep.

I had low blood pressure while in hospital and they wouldn't give me my blood pressure medication while there and I hadn't taken it since I had come home and I thought maybe I'd best go to my PCP and have my BP checked. It was still low but he didn't have an answer for my hot flashes. (I had a total hysterectomy about seven years ago and have been off HRT for about a year and a half and had not been having hot flashes.) I called the NS office and asked and they just said to ask my PCP. I called my OB/GYN and they ordered an estrogen and thyroid panel. (I have Hashimoto's) All tests came back normal. At this point they all had no answer and just wanted me to start using a HRT patch again. I had it on for about five days but it didn't help. I really didn't want to do that as it makes me gain weight and so I took it off and haven't used them.