It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2010, 07:24 PM   #1
(female)

ggfrog99 HB User
Tlif decision? Need advice!!

Hello everyone! I am trying to decide if I should have a minimally invasive TLIF procedure done and need some advice. I have L5-S1 Spondylolithesis with bilateral L5 Pars Defect (spondylolysis). I have been having back problems since I was 15, but recently after giving birth to my daughter (now 18mths old) I have been having increased lower back/hip pain that radiates into my buttocks and down my leg. I am unable to sleep most nights and now have to take pain medication to make it through the day. I am a pharmacist on my feet all of my 8 hour shift and I am a single mother of 2 children (age 9 and age 18mths). My 16yr old niece lives with me as well. My MD tells me that I will be in the hospital for 2-3 days and be back to work by 6-8 weeks. He knows I have an 18mth old and seem to think I could take care of her completely after 4 weeks recovery. I am getting very concerned after reading these boards that I will never be able to pick up my daughter again. The pain has only gotten worse and I have tried some therapy, chiropractors, steroids, etc. I am thinking of trying steroid injections but I know this will only be a temporary reprieve from my pain. My nerves on either side are impinged severely, even I can see this on my MRI and CT scans. It seems to me that this problem will never be truly FIXED without surgery, but I can't NEVER pick up my daughter again. Does anyone have a similar experience or advice? I also only have 8 weeks of full pay disability coverage and I cannot afford to be out of work any more than that.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-12-2010, 09:56 PM   #2
(female)

mickeyluver HB User
Re: Tlif decision? Need advice!!