It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2002, 05:27 PM   #1

kilo39dn HB User
spinal fusion recovery time

can any one tell us how long the usual recovery time is for a T8 spinal fusion ,what to expect for movement and what are the outlooks for riding a Harley Davidson again?any opinions and facts would be gratly appreciated

Old 07-30-2002, 04:33 AM   #2

Hayley HB User
Re: spinal fusion recovery time

I’m not sure if there is an ‘official statement’ as to the length of time it takes for bones to fuse and I have no experience of fusion in that region of the spine.

However, I do have experience of fusion in the lumbar region - I was fused posteriorly 12 weeks ago at L4-S1, with instrumentation using bone harvested from my left and right iliac crests. I’ve been told that although I should see an improvement within 6 months it will take 12-18 months in total for the bones to fuse fully. My physio has told me that the bones will be pretty strong already and all I am feeling is pain from the bone graft sites/general post op pain – all of this should clear.

I guess it depends on the levels being fused, the severity of your injury, the type of fusion performed (anterior/posterior), if instrumentation is used to stabilise the site, how strong the levels are above and below the fused vertebrae and if you use donor bone or your own bone – I seem to remember someone posting here very recently who used donor bone. He was told time and time again that his x-rays looked great and everything was going well. Sadly he was still in immense pain so (don’t quote me here) I believe they operated again to check/remove the hardware. On going in they discovered the bone hadn’t actually taken and it literally flaked out.