It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2011, 08:20 AM   #1
(male)

runagainsoon HB User
Discectomy cost

Hi,
I'm considering an out-patient discectomy for L5-S1 herniation. I'm a student, so I don't make a lot of money, but have insurance. The insurance covers 80% supposedly, but I don't know if that's 80% of the surgeon fee, without anaestheist, etc. I have a few thousand saved (rainy days such as they are). I tried to ask the surgeon's financial dept what out of pocket might apply to me, but they said they couldn't tell me because they didn't know this, that, and the other thing about the procedure. I know costs vary by region and I know that insurance will only pay part of it. I'm just looking for ballpark figures. Did it run $2000? $5000? $10000? Are you in a big city? I understand financial info is sensitive to people, so any answer is appreciated.

Old 03-22-2011, 02:52 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

ibake&pray HB Useribake&pray HB Useribake&pray HB Useribake&pray HB Useribake&pray HB Useribake&pray HB Useribake&pray HB Useribake&pray HB Useribake&pray HB Useribake&pray HB Useribake&pray HB User
Re: Discectomy cost

[COLOR="Navy"]You might have been luck if you ask at the hospital what the general cost might run for the porceedure, including the anesthesia. I have found that the anesthesiologist tends to bill separately-and that can be a chunck of change in of itself. The surgeons' bill might be sperate on top of the hospital bill, but they might be able to give you a ballpark idea.