It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2011, 06:00 PM   #1
(female)

Whisper23 HB User
Smile Laminectomy & Discectomy experiences...

Hi, this is my first time posting on this forum so no idea if I am doing things correctly but it's been great reading about other people's experiences.
I am a 23yr old female & recently (4 weeks ago today) had spinal surgery. I believe it was a laminectomy & discectomy of L4 & L5, due to spinal stinosis & 2 bulging discs that were pinching nerves & the day before surgery caused me to have a foot drop in left foot. It was all very scary as I hadn't had an acident or injury & only experienced pain for 10 days before emergency surgery was needed but so far so good. The pain has almost completely dissapeared in my left leg now but I do still have a foot drop & left leg weakness. I am up & about doing light activated as I fatigue very quickly, but still not allowed to drive, sit, bend, lift or twist. (my sitting restriction is 30 minutes maximum but I keep it to 15 minutes). I also have post traumatic stress disorder from the nurse accidentally giving me the paralyzing meds before being put to sleep causing me to not only be terrified but my body reacted in a bad way, probably lucky as the nurses were in aware of their mistake & that I was in able to breathe. I was also given someone else's meds by mistake. This has probably caused me the most pain since with constant nightmares & a fear of injections now. Would love to know how others are recovering because I feel the recovery time has been very vague & un explained by my doctors...