It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2011, 12:27 AM   #1
(male)

Cmgmjg88 HB User
Recent spinal fusion and doing well

I am new to this board but just wanted to share a bit of my story. I am a career soldier and initially injured my back after returning from a year in Iraq (go figure. I am fine in a war zone and then get hurt runningnwhen I come home!). The herniated disc caused numbness in my left calf and foot but the docs would not do anything surgical because I still had full function. I was okay with that until this past Summer when I reinjured it while on vacation with my family. I could not walk or stand up straight the pain was so bad. After a few months of unsuccessful conservative treatment and a lot of painkillers, the Army finally did minimally invasive TLIF on my l5-s1 about 5 weeks ago.

So far I would consider it successful, although I realize it is way early in my recovery. I am getting out and walking every day and the pain has really decreased in my leg. I am off of painkillers ( I can't stand putting them into my body andmwas happy to find that after I weaned myself off of them with my docs permission that I have very, very little pain. Really I would say it is more annoying discomfort than pain. I am driving again but only short distances which is fine with me right now. I do have some sciatica in my left hip and buttocks, but I assume that is a result of pinching off that nerve for almost 3 years.