It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2012, 04:35 PM   #1
(female)

backlady HB User
L4-5 herniation. I am 20 years old and considering surgery.

Hello! I am a 20 year old student with a L4-5 disc herniation. I have had mysterious periodic back pain since I was 14 years old. However, since July 2011 I have been experiencing chronic lower back pain on my right side and pain in my right lower leg, accompanied with tingling from my knee to my toes. I finally got an appointment with an orthopedist and had x-rays, an MRI that showed a recent l4-5 herniation, and a steroid injection that had no effect on my symptoms whatsoever. The injection was given in October, and my doctor has me scheduled for another one in a couple weeks in hopes that it will be better than the first. At this point, it has been 6 months since the herniation occurred. I was in much worse shape for the first month or two, I think because my muscles were having spasms. Since about September, however, I've felt almost exactly the same. My pain is by no means unbearable. I can get through my daily activities, I can shave my legs, get my shoes on, etc. This is injury has been very hard on me though, because it has changed my entire lifestyle. I used to be very athletic; a runner, an equestrian, dancer, majorette, stable hand, and a landscaper. I need a large amount of exercise, as I have found it does wonders for my mental health. Right now there isn't much more than walking that I can do. I foolishly played twister with my friends last night, and I am regretting it.