It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2012, 05:27 PM   #1
(male)

bruinfan23 HB User
Back Surgery Recovery time? L5-S1 Fusion

I'm scheduled for Posterior Lumbar decompression and fusion at L5-S1 on 8/20. I'm a school teacher and was told that as long as I was able to sit at work I could return after a week. School starts on 8/27. I do have the ability to leave work after about 4 hours each day and I can sit while I teach. I don't have to do any heavy lifting of items and I don't have to carry any paper work around. Is this really a doable option if anyone who's had this surgery could respond that would be great.

Old 07-10-2012, 10:01 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

teteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB User
Re: Back Surgery Recovery time? L5-S1 Fusion

I laughed out loud when I read your post. Who on earth told you that you would be ready to go back to work after a week? I personally think that is the height of irresponsibility to give a patient such unrealistic expectations. It is very unrealistic. I'd be surprised if one in ten patients would be able to go back after a week. That must be assuming you will be off pain medications at that point since you wouldn't want to be responsible for a roomful of children if you are taking pain medications. Think of the potential for a lawsuit if something were to happen to a child and the parents discover you were taking pain medication.