It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2012, 03:11 PM   #1
(female)

Donna022 HB UserDonna022 HB UserDonna022 HB UserDonna022 HB UserDonna022 HB User
Injections and Ablation

I have been being treated for back pain for over ten years now, starting with several years of a chiropractor.

This board and the people are so so helpful...but you know...I'm tired of dealing with this all the time.

Ask 2 different doctors, get 2 different answers.
Dr says time for surgery, I ask I thought we were going to try ablation. Yes, we can do that...do it then schedule the surgery. HUH?

For all of you who are getting temporary relief from the steroid shots but they are not lasting. If you have inflamation, those shots may "cure" you. If it is not inflamation most likely the relief you get will be temporary, HOWEVER, if you get 2-3 weeks of pain relief with the injections, the nerve ablation has a good chance of being successful...and for longer.

At least this is what I have found..for me...

Old 08-07-2012, 04:31 PM   #2
(female)

alida1234 HB User
Re: Injections and Ablation

I know what u mean about different doctor responses.....I have a question for you...I had a disectomy in Dec 2011 and am suffereing from nerve damage. I am currently on 2400 Mg of neurontin....if they were to do an ablation would I have to wean off of the mess or take them with the ablation? Is it painful and costly? Any suggestions out there for help??¿? Thanks all!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-07-2012, 04:35 PM   #3
(female)

Donna022 HB UserDonna022 HB UserDonna022 HB UserDonna022 HB UserDonna022 HB User

Gosh, I hope the pro's jump in here...I don't have a clue.

Old 08-07-2012, 04:37 PM   #4
(female)

The nerve ablation is painful....but just a little more so than the injections. Hey, if it works, it is waaayyy worth it to me!