It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2012, 08:19 PM   #1
(female)

sparkiepdx HB User
XLIF Surgery in 2 weeks, I'm 31 and scared!

I am schedules for XLIF surgery in 2 weeks, I'm only 31 and spinal fusion freaks me out. I am an electrician,and very active. I'm told I can return to work in a month, light duty of course, and still go on the vacations I have planned, one being NJ for family stuff 3 weeks after surgery, and Belize in January, 2 months after surgery. The stories I've been reading on here are rarely positive so I am very very scared. I'm hoping that since I am fusing L3-L4, and I am young and healthy, that my recovery will be easier than someone older and not so healthy. I haven't seen much of anyone my age getting this done, so I am worried obviously that maybe I should wait, but my quality of life is suffering, and some days I want to crawl into a corner and cry, then I have a day where I only have a dull ache and think I'm making a mistake. I am pretty lost.

Old 11-06-2012, 09:20 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

teteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB User
Re: XLIF Surgery in 2 weeks, I'm 31 and scared!

I've never known a female electrician! Just so you know, fusion freaks out most of us. It does seem like an extreme solution. It is rather odd to have a problem at L3-L4 that requires fusion --what is the reason fusion has been recommended to you?

Did you get more than one opinion? What other treatments have you tried? When you say some days you have only a dull ache, it makes me wonder if you are really in need of a fusion.