It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2012, 01:25 PM   #1
(female)

mrsodie75 HB User
There is something that can be done if you are still having symptoms discecgtomy

I had a discectomy 11/28/12 and have been reading previous posts on HealthBoards re: other people's experiences. I noted that a lot of people still had residual symptoms for weeks or months after surgery. I also had a lot of the same symptms in my leg and buttocks following surgery. I wanted to share some information with others who feel hopeless. I am a physical therapist assistant and talk from a professional standpoint as well as someone that has gone through this surgery. The nerve pain that you feel into the leg and buttock prior to surgery causes tightness in your body that go beyond just muscles. The surgery fixes the disc, but the nerve tightness remains (more severe the longer you had to deal with the problem before you had it fixed). PT is very important to do after surgery to learn what is right and wrong, to learn exercises for flexibility and strength and to help with scar healing....but there is something else that therapy could provide, but not all therapists have learned the technique so you have to be an advocate for yourself and ask. There is a technique called craniosacral which, basically, helps to stretch the nerves and associated tightness in the protective covering of your spinal cord. I was fortunate to know how to do this, but I cannot treat myself with this, so I taught my husband how to treat and my residual pain is 99% gone. I am frustrated that so many people still are suffering and I believe there is hope. Please note that I urge you to still talk with you doctor about your symptoms and this treatment because there are times when the disc has reherniated and the doctor needs to fix it, but please note there are other s