It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2013, 10:46 AM   #1
(female)

RTgirl2011 HB UserRTgirl2011 HB UserRTgirl2011 HB UserRTgirl2011 HB UserRTgirl2011 HB User
Question Getting a second opinion, what should I ask?

I am veteran to having back surgery. I have had 5. I have had two open discectomies, 2 PLIFs, and a staph infection washout. However, I am not good at asking questions. I get in the office and forget everything I want to ask. My current NS is very friendly, I get lost in our good relationship, he reminds me of my dad. I am the type who trusts doctors immediately. Therefore, I really don't ask any questions. I am very fortunate that I did find a real good NS right out of the box.

I have a bulged disc L5-S1, at my last appointment my NS told me that he wanted me to blow out my disc before he would do anything. That was back in early January. About mid February I began experiencing sciatica in my right leg with some pain my left leg as well. So, I did what any normal spiney would do. I called my NS and told them about the pain and his nurse proceeded to inform me that there was nothing they could do for me. I think I may blown the disc. I have been diagnosed with adjacent disc disease. They offered me an injection and I refused because they don't seem to work for me. I have had several tries at injections. My husband talk me into getting a second opinion. I called my PCP and he hooked me up.

So here I am today, getting ready to see my new NS next week. I want to be an informed patient. I want to be able to ask the right questions. Can anyone give some advice on what kind of questions I should ask? I am very nervous about this appointment. I am afraid that he won't believe that I am suffering. Thanks

Jennifer

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-05-2013, 12:59 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)