It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2013, 04:10 PM   #1
(female)

npcooper713 HB User
Nerve Sheath Tumor - Spine

Hi There,
I am fairly new to this. I initially posted in the Spinal Disorder Forum but was directed here. I was diagnosed with a small spinal nerve sheath tumor back in 2010. It measured approx 1.48 cm. It is btw T12-L1. I went for a follow up MRI a couple of weeks ago and it grew to 1.77 cm. It is displacing the conus according to the MRI report. I saw a neurosurgeon 2 weeks ago at Columbia Presbyterian in NYC. He recommended surgery. I have since seen 2 more drs for different opinions. One suggested to watch & wait. The other agreed w/the Columbia dr and wants to operate. I am not really terribly enthusiastic about someone cutting me open in that area. As of right now I am asymptomatic. I am a 36 yr old female with a 3 yr old son. My life is completely hectic and I really don't have time to be out of commission for weeks on end. Plus I am really scared of this surgery. He said he would do a laminectomy and I would be in the hospital about 5 days. I have found that in the past doctors never really tell you what exactly to expect after you have a procedure or surgery. They pretty much give you a textbook answer. I would like to hear from real people about how they felt starting immediately after the surgery and forward. Thank you in advance for reading!

Old 03-06-2013, 05:27 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

teteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB User
Re: Nerve Sheath Tumor - Spine