It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Beauty & Cosmetics Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2006, 07:22 AM   #1
(female)

hemp365 HB User
I always look tired even after applying make-up

Hi. I'm a substitute teacher. I also go to college at night. So I get up very early. After getting up the first thing I do is put on my make up. Even after applying it I look tired all day what should I do?

Old 05-05-2006, 08:28 AM   #2
Inactive
(female)

ttc1asap HB User
Re: I always look tired even after applying make-up

I have this problem but found out I am hypothyroid. Even though it might be rough, I'd try washing my face with ice cold water - or dunking it in a sink full of cold water and ice cubes. Then apply moisturizer and let it sink in abut 15 minutes before applying foundation. Maybe you could try a self tanner and/or a different foundation (or shade) to help you look more awake. I've also heard not to use anything powdery on your face if possible - powder sometimes dries out skin or makes it look duller, or it can settle in fine lines and wrinkles. Experiment with different makeup colors. I've heard you can line the inner rims of your eyes with white pencil. Some people dab some white on the inner corner of your eyes.
However, be careful not to overdo it on the makeup. Sometimes when I'm tired I notice I look better if I go easy, with less products. I use cream blush rather than powder. I don't wear real bright lipstick and go easy on the eyeliner. A light coating of mascara will help, as will curling your eyelashes. If you don't have a heated eyelash curler but have a metal one, heat it with the blowdryer for a minute and then curl your lashes before applying mascara.
Can you sneak in a 20 minute nap during the day? Any longer and you'll get into a deep sleep, but 20 minutes is said to be just right during the day.