It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Beauty & Cosmetics Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2008, 08:04 PM   #1
(female)

caramonaco HB User
Talking Hydrogen Peroxide & Hair Dyeing Questions

I have very dark (nearly black) hair. I wanted to put a few streaks of fun color in my hair myself, but I know in order to do so I would need to lighten the strands first.
I have dyed my hair years before, I often got highlights in middle school, but my hair is natural right now and has not be dyed in at least 4 years.

I'm a college student and I live in a dorm. I don't have the money or the ability to get to a salon, and I wanted to try out a home remedy, so please do not suggest the obiviously better idea of getting it professionally done.

My questions are: Can I use hydrogen peroxide to lighten a few strands and then dye over it?
How do I apply hydrogen peroxide?
How long after do i wait before dying over the lightened strands?
Is there a specific type of dye to use after lightening?
If hydrogen peroxide is a bad idea, what is a better alternative?

Thanks for the advice!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-30-2008, 10:39 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

EllieFrog HB User
Re: Hydrogen Peroxide & Hair Dyeing Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by caramonaco View Post
I have very dark (nearly black) hair. I wanted to put a few streaks of fun color in my hair myself, but I know in order to do so I would need to lighten the strands first.
I have dyed my hair years before, I often got highlights in middle school, but my hair is natural right now and has not be dyed in at least 4 years.

I'm a college student and I live in a dorm. I don't have the money or the ability to get to a salon, and I wanted to try out a home remedy, so please do not suggest the obiviously better idea of getting it professionally done.