It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2005, 02:50 AM   #1
(male)

Travis420 HB User
How long does the depression part last?

Hey it's me again, still hanging in there.

I'm new to this Bipolor disorder and haven't been properily medicated yet. I just went through what you call mania where I was in a good mood for days on end for about eight weeks(is it call mania?). Now for the past two weeks it's been the opposite. Some days are better than others, today is so far, is going to be a good one. If I was in a good mood for such a long time than that means I'll be in a crappy mood for another 6 weeks or so? I'm so new at this I really can't be properily medicated yet right?

Well to explain my past a little, I'm a recovering heroin addict and have used heroin for 4 years. Then when I started my recovery last fall and I kept using every now and then. For the past 10 weeks I've been clean from heroin. Does heroin surpresses bipolor? I beleive it does, cause I never new I had bipolor untill after I was diagnosed with it last Feb. I'm only 20 years old, bye the way. The doctors only gave me prozac and nothing else. They told me to fill out a mood journal, which I'm behind on. This mood journal, filling it out, will it give the doctors an idea on what meds I should be on? I don't even think I've been diagnose with which number I'm at, one or two I don't know.

I wonder if it was my junk habbit that cause me to have bipolor or was it that I was born to develope this.