It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2005, 02:24 PM   #1
(female)

babygrl1337 HB User
Arrow Diet pills and lithium...

Hey yea I'm a newbie.....I was just wondering if anyone takes diet pills with there meds.? I do and i get the energy boost but i dont know if it will take a toll on my body or not...Just wondering!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-27-2005, 08:05 AM   #2
(female)

kittyy HB User
Re: Diet pills and lithium...

Hello~ Are you taking the diet pills strictly for energy or for weight loss too? I f you are taking them just for energy I would switch to caffinated bev's. instead , not to mention that as a rule I don't think diet pills are good for you.
And talk to your doc. about it. good luck ~ Kittyy

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-27-2005, 08:11 AM   #3
(male)

Bop HB User

Both of my doctors told me to stay away from caffiene or any type of upper (or downer)as much as possible, so I have to disagree with you on that kittyy.From experience I can also that my moods and energy levels have ben much more manageable since I have cut down on caffiene and quit alcohol altogether. However, you are right about staying away form diet pills unless you are using them for dieting. The best thing you can do is call your doctor or pharmacist and ask them how the different meds will react with each other.

Old 07-27-2005, 09:01 AM   #4

rubindj HB User

Keep in mind that most painkillers other than Tylonal (inc aspirin, motrin, etc) interfere with Lithium levels, in some cases toxically. Lithium is one of the worst drugs for drug/drug interaction because of its chemical makeup.

I wouldn't take anything w/o speaking with my doctor or pharmacist. Secondly, many doctors consider the diet pills to be psychoactive, so they definately would want to know about them.

Old 07-27-2005, 02:01 PM   #5
(female)

babygrl1337 HB User