It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-14-2006, 09:07 AM   #1
(male)

oxindenial HB User
Unhappy I've missed some school.

Because of my last episode, I missed two weeks of college. Please wish me luck in going back to school and work. I am nervous and anxious about it. It was my fault, but I need reassurance to start back up the hill so to speak. This last back-slide was horrible.

oxindenial

Old 04-15-2006, 10:07 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

GatsbyLuvr1920 HB UserGatsbyLuvr1920 HB UserGatsbyLuvr1920 HB User
Re: I've missed some school.

I'm a college freshman; I'm not bipolar, but I do have severe OCD, severe panic attacks, GAD, and Asperger's, so I know what it's like to have to deal with college and a mental illness. You may feel especially guilty right now, but don't beat yourself up too badly- for people like us, there are simply days that we can't physically go to class, and your professors need to understand that. Do you have a strong connection with your counseling center at the college? I told a lot of my teachers about my problems, so they understand; I've really gone into detail with two of my professors, I've let some of the others know that I have psychiatric disabilities, and the rest don't even know, but it might be a good idea to let them know so they simply don't think you're some slacker. If you have any questions or just want to talk, I'm here!
-GatsbyLuvr1920-

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-15-2006, 10:20 AM   #3
(male)

oxindenial HB User