It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-23-2006, 07:51 PM   #1
(female)

punkrocker89 HB User
is it bipolar?

I just know that something is wrong with me, and i've been depressed/suicidal for several years now. I have these long breaks like a month or so with weird mood shifts, im angry and depressed and always looking for something dangerous that gives me some sort of a "rush" These episodes have gotten even worse lately, my therapist diagnosed me with manic depression, is that the same thing as bipolar disorder?

The following user gives a hug of support to punkrocker89:
johnathaneric45 (12-24-2010)
Old 04-23-2006, 09:26 PM   #2
(female)

lynelle101 HB User
Re: is it bipolar?

Hello,
Here is some information that I think will be helpful to you okay please feel free to ask more because really I am new to all this and i am using the resources I find available.... I was diagnosed in Nov. Bp with Ptsd but she also told me manic depressive but you will see that that is part of bipolar it's all in the same if your biploar 1 and then there's bipolar 2 let me know what you think? In the end you need a professional though to say for sure cause I am just like I said new tooo Best to you talk to u soon Lynelle

here you go hope it helps:
What Is Bipolar Disorder?
Bipolar Disorder, the modern day term for manic-depressive disorder, is a serious medical condition that is chemically and biologically based in the brain. A simple description is that the disorder is like a malfunctioning regulator of the brain's chemicals that manifests as abnormal behavior in terms of mood swings between manic states, depressive states and sometime mixed states. Although environmental and/or social conditions can contribute to a mood swing or state it is uncontrollable by the patient.

Who gets it and how?