It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2006, 08:00 AM   #1
(female)

Wis Gal HB User
I'd like to hear from anyone on Lamictal, please! I

I'm new to these HealthBoards but feel the need to connect with some of you out there who suffer like I do from such a terrible disease. I am currently battling depression trying to get my act together after a bad episode of mania late this past summer. I'm finding it very difficult to find the right medication since the hospitals and my psychologist keep changing things on me. I am currently on lithium (only a week) but find myself shaking and having more of a dulling feeling. I need something that is going to help more with not just stablizing my manic/depression but that will help lift me up too. Does anyone out there take Lamictal and could you please let me know what your experiences have been?

Thank you for your time.
Wis Gal

Old 10-17-2006, 08:16 AM   #2
Veteran
(female)

gav_73 HB User
Re: I'd like to hear from anyone on Lamictal, please! I

Hi Wis Gal, and welcome to the board,

I am on both lithium and lamictal. The lithium was going well at 600mg, until they tried to increase my dosage. The lithium brought me slowly out of my depression (I had been deeply depressed for about 6 months before I was diagnosed as bipolar), but I still felt unstable. However, I didn't want to try a higher dose because of the side effects experienced before. So, we are trying Lamictal. I was really afraid to take it at first, just like the lithium. But, I am on my second week with no side effects whatsoever (knock on wood, as I am about to move up to a higher dosage).

Anyway, hope this helps. Also, there are a lot of threads about Lamictal on here and others' experiences if you look back a page or two. There should be a lot of good information on there--some good, some bad.