It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2006, 04:25 PM   #1
(female)

JessiNorth HB User
To work or not to work

So I have been going to a support group and have found something rather interesting. Nearly everyone there does not work (they collect diability) or if they do it is very part time (like 10 hrs a week). My question is this...do most people with depression and bipolar not work? Is it better for your health not to work? What are the qualifications to collect disability? How much does disability pay?

Here is the flip side....If you do work, how do you handle times when you are so depessed you can't get out of bed? Does your employer know you are bipolar? Can your employer fire you on the basis of being bipolar? I am specifically wondering if there are any other teachers out there...I am a teacher and am terrified that I am going to lose my job and seen as unfit to work with children. I haven't worked since the end of last school year in June and I start a new teaching position tomorrow actually!

Please offer me your experience and insight!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-29-2006, 05:13 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

marshmallow HB User
Re: To work or not to work

I am not an expert in any way but I do know people that are bp that go to work everyday. I think everyone is different. I don't think it would be right to fire a person because they are bp unless they cant do the job. I am not bp so I don't have the experience. My husband denies having a problem so I cant go by him but he works every day. Maybe others can give you better advice.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-29-2006, 07:59 PM   #3
(male)

cheeneyjo HB User
Smile Re: To work or not to work