It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-31-2006, 09:30 AM   #1
(male)

OCA917 HB User
I'm an unmedicated bipolar college student (trust me It sucks)

well I was diagnosed a couple of years ago. and I haven't been on medication since the summer before last. I have no insurance and (because Im in the smallest town on earth) no doctor. I have horrible insomnia. last night I went to sleep at 1:30 in the morning to wake up at 8:30 for a class at 9:30 I wake up at 3:00 in the morning and don't fall asleep till 6:30 and wake up too late to go to class. I have no absences left in this class. I will be kicked out. I have already dropped a class and am hanging by a string of thread in my next class. I believe that my bipolar self has a major roll in why Im doing so horrible in school. medication (without taking myself to the psychiatric hospital) is not available for quite some time. I want to tell these teachers what is going on but I don't want it to sound like some weird excuse so that I can do what I want. someone please help me. I need to know somewhere that I can find medication. I heed help.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-31-2006, 10:34 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

desertdweller HB User
Re: I'm an unmedicated bipolar college student (trust me It sucks)

My daughter qualified for medical assistance since her BPD was considered a disability. She went to the public assistance office with copies of all her documentation from her doctors ( she was diagnosed at 15). The state pays for her monthly doctor visits, and her meds. She is 20 and lives on her own. She does work for herself, but her income was low enough to qualify.