It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2007, 07:08 PM   #1
Inactive
(female)

jaybee333 HB User
Unhappy Mentally drained...

I am soooo mentally drained from trying to help my older bp brother that don't know what to do. He is presently not talking to me (he says forever) because I had to turn his cell phone off due to $200 and $300 bills that I couldn't afford, I've been paying it for 2 yrs. Anyway I'm so tried of hearing the stories, and getting calls from people about his strange and awful behavior. He's also on drugs, to self medicate. I worry all the time and have started to see a change in myself. Any advice from people that have been in the same boat? Thanks.

Old 09-19-2007, 08:02 PM   #2
Inactive
(female)

goody2shuz HB Usergoody2shuz HB User
Re: Mentally drained...

Hi Jaybee....as you know I have two daughter's with BP and it is probably a little easier to get them the help that they need than it is for you to do for your adult brother. But I am sure that you are just as concerned about him and wanting him to do something about it.

I don't have the same experience but do know how seeing a loved one struggling and not accepting the help that they need is so draining and emotionally exhausting. I do have two brother in laws in their late 40's who have been in and out of jail and rehab all of their lives. One is in jail again and the other is living homeless in Florida....it has taken it's toll on my inlaws as well as my husband but they have come to the realization that there is really nothing you can do for somebody who doesn't want the help. And I see that is where your brother is at.