It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2008, 12:52 PM   #1
(female)

patteecake HB User
do you find it hard to have bipolar and work?

i was a teacher assistant for 3 yrs and a teacher for two. i got laid off in August of 2005. Then 1yr and 1/2 after no work, i got hired as a nanny in June of 2007. I loved my job, they let me bring the boy when he wasn't in preschool. I enjoyed teaching the boy and having a playmate for my son and their son as well. In June of 2008 I was laid off. It's been 3mths and i've wondered if being on SSI and working is worth it. I'd like to teach again, i'm wondering if being on Lamictal effects jobs. I'm on 50mgs and i don't sleep well during the night. I have insomina. But i'm a hard worker and reilable. I've wanted to get a job for the past 2mths and i am also waiting till they hire me again in sept is a possiblity they said.

Old 08-22-2008, 03:44 AM   #2
(female)

sped57 HB User
Re: do you find it hard to have bipolar and work?

I also am a teacher and for the last few years, I have really been struggling to stay on top of things at work. I am coming off of effexor right now- down to 37.5 after being on 300mg. When I am not teaching, I think that I could do a better job than everyone else and that I can do it all, but then when all the work of a job piles up, I get overwhelmed and have trouble relating to the other teachers and I begin to question my ability to do anything. I enjoy teaching when I am on top of things, but I do get frustrated with the piles of paper work - I teach life skills in special ed. I hope that you get your teaching job and that it works out for you. It sounds as if you enjoy teaching and I did not get the impression that the responsibilities of the job get to you. Good luck, get that job and have a great year!

Sponsors Lightbulb