It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2008, 10:02 AM   #1
(female)

carolyn786 HB User
A bit scared.

Firstly hi, I'm a newbie, so glad I found this forum as I've been feeling lost and some of the posts I've read have really helped me.

So I think I've finally accepted that I have BP but now it's just really scaring me. I first realised that something wasn't right about a year ago, my doctor thought I was depressed - I didn't want the meds so just started living healthier and worked hard to find my direction in life. I realise now that what happened was I experienced a manic episode, it wasn't too severe but it made me think there was nothing wrong with me and that the doctor was talking rubbish. Over the last few months I've been experiencing extreme mood swings, the doctor says I have rapid cycling BPII, at first this meant nothing to me as I was high at the time and thought I'd be fine, but now I know that I really do have a problem. I've been finding everything so difficult lately, and no one understands, it's making me really hate myself and feel like i'm out of control. I am very fortunate in that I work with people who are trained councellors and know a lot about mental disorders, they're a real help but they don't have it!!!!

I was at the doctor today and was told I have to wait 4 weeks before I can see a psychiatrist, it seems so far away! I'm scared that I'll never lead a normal life but I'm more scared of losing my creative energy. My mood swings don't get really extreme, most people just thing I'm really energetic and happy as I hide everything else inside.