It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2009, 07:50 AM   #1
(female)

rshcraig HB User
Question Is this the place that can help me?

So, I am basically new to this whole bipolar idea. I was diagnosed in November. It was the first time anyone ever told me that it wasn't just depression, and that I probably can't just change my life and thoughts to make myself better.

So, my story is, that around the age of 12 or 13, I became very depressed. I attempted suicide at 15 and that was the first time anyone in my family realized anything was wrong. I have always been good at the fake smiles and hiding the cuts and burns. So, for 6 years, I was told I was depressed by the various counselors I would see... never the same one for more than a few weeks or a couple months though because I always found a reason to be afraid to go back... said something wrong, ran late to an appointment, forgot to take my medicine etc. But in the end, they mostly just said... get out and do something, make yourself happy, and you'll be better.