It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2009, 07:52 PM   #1
(female)

Elf_Ears HB User
Officially diagnosed today

Though I've suspected it for a while, my pdoc officially told me today that I was bp II. It was a blow, and I cried. I don't really know why. I guess because I'm no expert, and I didn't take my own dx as seriously. But today, after I called my pdoc about what seemed to be rapid cycling all yesterday, he simply explained that "mood disorder NOS" (my dx for 3 yrs now) wasn't what I had. Instead I was bp II. He's held off calling me bp for some time. He's used terms like "mixed episodes", "rapid cycling," but never said I was bp until today. My symptoms yesterday seemed clinch it. He said to stay on the 150mg lamictal, but he's added on .25mg risperdal to help me sleep at night.

Risperdal - that's what Grandma took for schizophrenia. That kinda freaks me out... But pdoc assured me that I only have bpII. There's always a silver lining.

I cried to my sister, and played my cello, and I feel better now. Just a little. And I'm even starting to feel a relief that I now know the name of the dragon who chases me sometimes, and then retreats to his cave...

Old 04-08-2009, 07:59 PM   #2
(female)

caitlin122 HB User
Re: Officially diagnosed today

I'm glad your got a definite diagnosis. Having that give you your next stepping stone into getting and feeling better. I know how hard it is to hear the first time that you have bipolar, but once you go through the acceptance stage, it will be much easier to handle and deal with. And crying about it is definitely okay and helpful to do.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-08-2009, 10:13 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(male)

light the world HB User