It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2009, 11:52 AM   #1
(female)

mom3x HB User
newbie and in need of help for my son FAST

HI I am a newbie too. I am here because my 15yr old son is on a downward spiral. A year ago he tried to kill himself. He has been seeing a pdoc since but in the last 6-8wks he is raging anger, mixed with wanting to sleep all the time. He wants nothing to do with school or sports both of which he loved a few months ago. He has several great friends but insists on clinging to one who tells him he is on sugar pills or meds to make him be controlled by his evil parents. He refuses to take meds at times and today refuses to go to the pdoctor. He is a big kid 6'3" and 200 lbs so we can't really muscle him. I don't know what to do.

We have begun looking into a therapist and a different pdoc. Is that the next logical step.

Old 04-15-2009, 12:47 PM   #2
(male)

BrownCore HB User
Re: newbie and in need of help for my son FAST

Therapy is always a good idea.

You didn't really explain how the doctor was going about doing his job, so I can't really offer an opinion as to whether or not you should do a switch.

Since it seems that he does not want to take medication, has rage issues, and severe depression, always keep in mind that involuntary commitment is always an option on the table if you become extremely concerned.

Good luck, and I hope everything goes well.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-15-2009, 01:03 PM   #3
(female)

mom3x HB User