It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2009, 10:08 AM   #1
(female)

bigsky1811 HB User
Unhappy New to the board and feeling lost, needing help

Hi There

I was diagnosed with BP 4 years ago, but recognize that I have had bipolar for the previous 20 years, since I was a teenager. I have been doing really well for the past two years (or I think I have), post divorce, responsible job, no medication (my choice), yet this week, I have hit my brick wall again.

One week's holiday in Wales with my 9 year old son, fiance and mother. My mother doesnt accept I have BP and tells me to pull my self together and get a grip when I can't stop crying and can't cope with life. My fiance didnt know I had BP until I told him this week (in manic state and very aggressive/abusive to him), and now I'm scared he'll run a mile. My poor son just thinks I am nuts.

I am terrified of going back on medication (carbemazepine made me feel like a zombie). I don't have a pyschiatrist in Lancashire. My old one was in Derby and I slipped through the net when I moved, and I feel like I am losing control of a life that I thought was back on track. I have tried to refuse to let BP define me and have tried to act as though I didnt have it at all. Now it is catching up with me, and I could really do with some help. Thanks in anticipation!

Old 04-18-2009, 02:47 PM   #2
Inactive
(female)

katlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB User
Re: New to the board and feeling lost, needing help

Bigsky,