It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2009, 06:58 PM   #1
(female)

lindy77077 HB User
Unhappy Bipolar II Disorder and PTSD with 30lb weight gain

I'm new to this and hoping others can provide me with some information and words of encouragement that have experienced the same thing. I was officially diagnosed in September of 2008 with Bipolar II and with a change in medication, a quick and swift weight gain followed. I was being treated for depression for over 10 years and PTSD for 4. After 4 weeks of the diagnosis and a change in meds, I gained 20lbs, the following weeks I gained 10. As far as my meds go, my change started when I went into the psychiatrists' office for the first time on the maximum dose of Wellbutrin (which stopped working hence my referal to a psychiatrist from a family doctor for a reassessment of my atypical depression diagnosis). She first added Effexor to the Wellbutrin and continually increased it until I got unbearably suicidal and was re-assessed as bipolar (II). My new combinations starting. First was staying on Effexor, sleeping pills (forgot the name), clorazapam and Epival. I was so sedated and still never slept so we added seroquel. I then slept but took me about 5 hours to wake up in the morning and get out of bed and moving. We then tried a variety of combinations and I am now back on Wellbutrin (after trying Effexor and Cipralex) and Epival so just the 2 for this. Since January 2009, I have been jogging 5km 3x per week and eating better but not a single pound loss. Does anyone have any helpful thoughts or suggestions for me?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-19-2009, 08:17 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

dreams in neon HB Userdreams in neon HB User
Re: Bipolar II Disorder and PTSD with 30lb weight gain