It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2009, 06:41 PM   #1
(male)

monosgrande HB User
Withdrawing from Lamictal

I've been on Lamictal (200mg) for BP for over a year. I ramped up to this level very slowly, but it took a while to get to a good place. My mind doesn't race anymore, I don't have the anger flashes, or the spiraling anxiety and sleepless nights. It's been a great, dare say, wonder drug. That was until two days ago.

Because of a snafu by my wonderful (sarcasm) doctor, there was a two day period of time where I was without these light blue wonders. My brain went to Hell in under 24 hours. I was nauseous, and mildly lightheaded. I've been very easily distracted. It's made writing this challenging. I write for a living, and I'm having trouble typing, let alone stringing cohesive thoughts together. To say that I've been irritable is an understatement. I keep snapping at people. Every damn thing that used to set me off is doing it again. And, I'm so freaking tired.

When I knew I wasn't getting any for a few days I thought, "No big deal, it took so long to get to where it made any difference, how bad can it be to be be off for 24-48 hours?" Wow, was I wrong. I started back on a few hours ago, but I was feeling so crappy that I started combing the web trying to figure out if this might have anything to do with Lamictal. I've found a few places that mention anecdotally that others have felt some of this. I'm curious as to how others have dealt with similar scenarios. It's nice to know that I'm not the only one, but this still sucks. I have an appointment with Dr. Genius in two days. If this stuff hasn't kicked back in by then it could get a bit heated.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-03-2009, 08:39 PM   #2
(male)

esolc HB User
Re: Withdrawing from Lamictal