It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2011, 01:39 AM   #1
(female)

Caroline718 HB User
*Lithium...is it my last resort?*

Hello to everyone! I am a newbie so if there are huge threads about this already I apologize. The situation I am in is getting pretty dire. I am currently taking 200 mg per day of Lamictal for my new diagnosis of "Bi-Polar II". I am a 40 year old mother of two kids (6 year old girl and 2 year old son). My biggest issue is my mood. I feel angry almost all the time! It is awful! I recently weaned myself off of Zoloft as I do not suffer from depression...it is really this mood disorder.
I hate that iwake up every day feeling like crap and getting angry at my family for the littlest things! I have a loving husband, two great kids, a great house, nice cars....basically I really have all the makings of a "perfect home life". But I am just so angry...I cannot control it a lot of the time. I am most scared that I will alienate my kids and they will eventually not want much to do with me. My husband has been sticking it out for about 6 years now (most of my anger got even worse after I had my daughter in 2005.
My pDoc wants to put me on Lithium for the mood disorder. This terrifies me! I have heard so many bad things about this drug...I don't want to die taking it! But I feel like we are running out of options. We have tried multiple antidepressants (Zoloft, Paxil, Prozac, Wellbutrin, Buspirone) and now I am taking just the Lamictal for the bi-polar. But it does not seem to be helping much. And I get withdrawal symptoms if I wait even 30 minutes to long to take my next pill!! I don't understand why this drug is so short lasting? The withdrawals every day are really bad and I just want to find a good treatment that won't put me I that state everyday.