It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2012, 02:38 PM   #1
(female)

ocdsux108 HB User
not accepting diagnosis too well...

Hi all,
I'm new to this particular board due to my new diagnosis from my psychologist as BIPOLAR!! My appointment with my psychiatrist is next week so i guess he will get more in depth with me about it.
Basically, I've been treated for depression/anxiety for about 20 years...been on Prozac, Paxil, and numerous anti-anxiety meds (which i never really take for long periods of time due to my OCD/phobic issues) and these meds would work for a while and then i'd think wow i'm better and i'd get off them. After I had my 2nd child, my mood was never back to normal. I'd go for months being "okay/normal", but i don't think that was really ever the case.
I have extreme hand washing OCD, emetophobia (fear of vomiting), germ phobia, really severe anxiety/panic issues and yet i function completely to the outside world...i'm married (how he puts up with me and my dysfunction i will never fully understand--it's hard to understand why he loves me and stays here), have 3 beautiful children, work full time...yet, i've never been so depressed, overwhelmed or unhappy in my 36+ years of living.
As of lately, my thoughts have been so negative, so bad, so unhealthy...My new psychologist thinks I'm bipolar and have been my whole 20 years of being treated and i've never gotten any relief because my other docs never really took my depression as serious enough i guess. As far as when she actually brought up bipolar disorder as a possible diagnosis, i felt a sense of relief mixed with a ton of sadness and sickness. There is such a stigma attached with that word and I've never given it much thought when it came to MYSELF.