It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Birth Control Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2005, 07:20 AM   #1

andreah1 HB User
Mirena - my hubby can feel the strings, HELP!

Hello, I'm a newbie and have a question which I couldn't find answered anywhere in previous posts. I had Mirena inserted almost a month ago. So far besides the painful insertion and cramps now and again my biggest problem has been having sex with my husband. Unfortunately he feels the strings. Has anyone else had this experience? I see my dr. in a couple weeks and she had told me in advance that if something like this happened she could trim the strings but wouldn't that make it worse? They are poking him to the point that we can see red marks on him. I REALLY want this IUD to work as I've been on the pill for 20 years and I'm tired of the side effects. Can anyone offer any insight and/or help? Thanks! Andrea

Old 03-22-2005, 05:58 PM   #2

momofyyss HB User
Re: Mirena - my hubby can feel the strings, HELP!

I just had the Mirena inserted today. I asked my doc about poking strings, which was a concern of mine after I read your posted message. She said that cutting them too short is what causes the poking feeling. She said the mirena strings are similar to fishing wire. If you cut it, it becomes poky. So she said she prefers to keep them longer and eventually they wrap themselves around the cervical area, preventing interference during intercourse. She told me to try it out and let her know, but in general, she receives less complaints when doing it this way. Talk to your doctor and ask her what her approach was and what other options you have at this point.

Hope this helps.
momofyyss

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-22-2005, 06:18 PM   #3
(female)

redtree HB User