It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Birth Control Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2005, 06:37 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

Longview HB User
why do they become pregnant?

whats the reasons that women on BC still become pregnant? if it's 99% effective..whats that 1% that causes women on BC to become pregnant? Is it true that BC sometimes just doesnt work for certain women, if so WHY? This scares me. I feel like i can't rely on my BC and i dont want it to be that way. im on [ortho tri cyclen lo] and i especially feel like i cant rely on Lo because i hear that a lot of women have gotten pregno on that brand but i cant switch brands right now. this is my first time on BC and my first pack and im scared my period isnt going to come. i just dont want to feel this way.

Last edited by Longview; 08-11-2005 at 06:39 AM.

Old 08-11-2005, 07:19 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

GLSheridan HB User
Re: why do they become pregnant?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Longview
whats the reasons that women on BC still become pregnant? if it's 99% effective..whats that 1% that causes women on BC to become pregnant? Is it true that BC sometimes just doesnt work for certain women, if so WHY? This scares me. I feel like i can't rely on my BC and i dont want it to be that way. im on [ortho tri cyclen lo] and i especially feel like i cant rely on Lo because i hear that a lot of women have gotten pregno on that brand but i cant switch brands right now. this is my first time on BC and my first pack and im scared my period isnt going to come. i just dont want to feel this way.

Most women who get pregnant on the pill AREN'T part of that .1% failure rate. They're part of the 10-15% failure rate that can result from taking the pill incorrectly.