It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Birth Control Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2006, 09:01 AM   #1
Inactive
(female)

Dark Stranger HB UserDark Stranger HB UserDark Stranger HB UserDark Stranger HB User
IUD vs. tubal ligation

I wasn't sure if this belonged in Women's Health or Birth Control - I apologize to the members and the mods if it's in the wrong place.

I have been contemplating tubal ligation for a while now, and while I will not be able to even come close to getting it done anytime soon (I'm a broke college student), I was thinking it would be a good idea. However, I have had many people tell me that doctors will be stubborn with young female patients wanting a tubal because "you'll change your mind". It won't stop me from trying to convince them otherwise when the time comes, though.

Now, on another forum I'm part of, a woman who was about twice my age was saying that her doctor was giving her a hard time about sterilization and refused to perform the tubal, so she offered an IUD (Mirena, I think it was called) as a compromise.

I know women are seldom given IUDs when they have not yet given birth, but this woman got it without having to give birth first. I understand that the device is harder to get into place if the woman has not given birth because the cervix is smaller, but it still goes in. I think I could handle 15-20 minutes of pain if it meant I wouldn't have a child straddling my ankles 9 months later.