It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Birth Control Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2006, 05:37 AM   #1
(male)

Slapstick HB User
Birth Control Questions

Hello! I am new to the world of birth control... infact very new, and not that i'm taking it, but rather my girlfriend is and i have a few questions, that maybe you nice folks could answer for me! I will ask them all here so as not to spam the board...

my first question is can birth control ever wear off? For instance my girlfriend has been taking (i belive it is trycycene or something along those lines) for quite some time now... about 4 years... is there a point when birth control becomes ineffective and your body becomse immune to it?

Secondly, she first began taking birth control because she suffered from irregular periods, and when she did have her period they were very random and very debilitating for her, leaving her in bed all week... is taking birth control a good fix for this? or even a common one? hearing that was new to me as i didn't hink birth control would regulate your menstral cycle...

Thirdly, what makes the pill ineffective? i mean like... if you are taking a certain medication... like say you take an advil... does it make your birth control ineffective?

Also is it still effective when you are on your week of sugar pills?

And finally waht is the protection rate? because we both don't want to use condoms all the time, especiallly if she is on birth control... but at the same time dont want to get pregnant... are you very safe with just birth control pills? If you do ejaculate inside, is there a large risk with that? or is the risk still very minimal? (i'm assuming the risk gets a little bigger).