It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Blood and Blood Vessel Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2010, 08:09 PM   #1
(female)

jc1207 HB User
23 year old - platelet count 4 million

Hello there,

This is my first time posting about anything like this. But here goes. So...I'm pretty much a healthy 23 year old - very energetic, active, etc. Then one day my doctor puts in a CBC for me (first one ever) and it came up with a 4 mil platelet count..they thought it was a mistake because everything else seemed okay. I did it again, still 4 mil.

I didn't think too much of it because I FELT fine...but it really started to scare me when the doctors/nurses were telling me how this is kinda serious and for me to not take it so lightly.

Of course the first thing I do is google everything there is to platelets and what it means to have a high count. No where have I ever found ANYONE with a platelet count of 4 mil...not even close.

At first they thought I had CML..did a bone marrow biopsy (which my dr told me the avg age of his patients was 70 yrs old...)...and thankfully it struck out for CML. Then they talked about ET..and all these other bone marrow disorders and basically...they really don't know what to do with a 23 year old woman who appears healthy with a platelet count this high.

The whole symptoms I do have..is probably bruising and that when I bleed..it takes a while to stop. Initially, they were worried that I'd have blood clots or a stroke, but now they are pretty certain that my platelets are just dysfunctional at the moment. Then...they tested me for the Von Willebrand factor, which I think I am positive for..so I guess that is why I bleed more rather than clotting.