It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Blood and Blood Vessel Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2013, 10:31 AM   #1
(female)

LovesDogs3 HB User
Erythrocytosis and Hemachromatosis Questions

Hello,
This is my first time posting, and I'm glad to be here, since I have many questions and I hope I can improve my situation after 10+ years of no answers. I'm 51 year old female, with high hct noticed 11 years ago, along with high blood pressure. At the time, my hemotologist did all the tests for Polycythemia Vera, but the tests didn't confirm PV or other causes for the raised HCT. The bone marrow biopsy showed erythroid hyperplasia. We tried plebotomy, however my uncooperative veins and thick blood make it very difficult to draw the blood. After getting only 1/2 bag, the blod clotted, and then I felt VERY weak for 2 days afterwards. So, I've only been on a baby aspirin all these years, with monitoring via CBCs. HCT has stayed between 45 and 48. I've felt fairly well until a year ago. With the onset of pre-menopausal symptoms, I've been blaming my fatigue, moodiness, depression, insomnia, and heavy periods on those darned hormones.

But then last March I had a mild heart attack. The cardiologist said I have a "muscle bridge" where the muscle crosses over an artery, and I had a spasm in my heart muscle that cut off the blood supply long enough to cause some damage. They don't know what caused the spasm, as I was just sitting at my computer, but I'm on cardiac meds that have controlled the issue - with no more problems since then.

Last year we also discovered I have one gene for hemachromotosis. Here are my current blood counts:
HCT 45.7 (H)
RDW 15.1 (H)
Transf 288 (H)
Ferritin 8 (L)
All other numbers in the CBC and Iron Studies are normal.