It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bowel Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2007, 03:26 PM   #1
(male)

Desmond1990 HB User
Strange symptoms... Mucus-like substance

Hi, I've been experiencing strange symptoms. I've looked all over the internet, and when I couldn't find anything, I came to this site because I found another persons thread useful a few years ago

I drink a lot of coffee and water, and I've been drinking coffee for many years, so I'm used to going to the toilet a lot, and my body seems to have a high caffine tolerance. I sometimes get a 'bloated' feeling... And whenever I go to the toilet, I'll try to poop to releave the bloated feeling. Gas often comes out. This is 'normal' for me.

Recently, I've noticed that as well as gas, a thick translucent mucus-like substance will also come out too. This has been happening for probably about two months. I didn't think anything of it until today, where I also saw -what I assumed to be blood- within the mucus. There wasn't much 'blood', but I'm sure that any is bad. I've been watching out for any red colours since, and I haven't spotted any(I'm wondering if it could have been a red shade of brown). I rarely get constipation or diarrhea (despite the coffee). I'm not overweight, but I'm not a 'health-friek' either

(I think) My diet contains a lot of sugar, sodium, fat, starch and not much protein. I eat a lot of fruit (mainly oranges and apples). I'm a vegetarian, and have been for 12 years. I do not eat meat or fish, though I do eat eggs(<-extremely rarely), cheese and milk. My main source of protein is from artificial meats, such as quorn. And I drink about 8 cups of brewed coffee a day, in patterns like: 2/3 cups, 6 hours with none, 2/3 cups, 6 hours with none, 2/3 cups. I eat quite a lot of food, but my metabolism is quite high.

....I also have two cats.