HealthBoards

HealthBoards (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Bowel Disorders (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/bowel-disorders/)
-   -   Rectal Fissure and Fistula HELP!!!!!! (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/bowel-disorders/574970-rectal-fissure-fistula-help.html)

jyw1966 01-31-2008 09:16 PM

Rectal Fissure and Fistula HELP!!!!!!

Hello, I am new to the HealthBoards but look forward to communicating with everyone. I had Microdiscectomy surgery Jan 07 for a ruptured disc and within a week of the surgery developed a high fever and felt alot of pressure in my rectum. I thought I had an infection related to the back surgery and notified my surgeon. I started on Levaquin and after about 4-5 days the fever went away but the pain in my rectal area continued. Soon I developed a knot on the side of my rectum and had to see a surgeon who diagnosed me with an abscess. After going in twice for the abscess to be drained I got some relief but it did not go away. I went to see a Colorectal Surgeon and he thought it was just an abscess and we continued antibiotics, sitz baths, cortisone cream etc. I went back for my followup and insisted that there was still a problem. He scheduled an exam under anesthesia and drained the abscess again and packed it. I had this procedure twice and all the time I could still feel a pain that would not go away after the surgery. Thank goodness the surgeon was out of town and I had to see his partner, he said I had a fistula that had formed from the abscess.

I have been suffering with this for over a year now and have had 4 procedures......still not well.......I had a Ceton placed in the summer last year and this was suppose to keep the fistula from getting infected and maybe allow it to heal. It only caused irritation, although I only had to have antibiotics twice in 5 months to keep the abscess from coming back. Finally the Ceton came out which was a blessing because it caused such irritation I could hardly stand it.