It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bowel Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2008, 09:59 AM   #1
(male)

Meseria HB User
Looking for some insight before i goto a Dr.

Hey,

I am a college student, 19 yrs old, and im trying to find if someone can help me before i drop money on a doctor if i really do not need one.

First of all, when i was younger, about 15 or 16, i was constipated all the time and often had blood in the water, toilet paper, and on the stolls. I have kind of attributed that to lack of exercise and a poor diet. I had a colonoscopy done and they didnt find any problems. Well fast forward to current day. Past year or so i began working out and eating very healthy, lots of fruit, vege's, occasional lean steak or fish, avoiding HFCS and all soda's. Well that ended up making the constipation go away, as well as the blood but my stoll began to get thin, flat and 'gooey.' I would not call it diarrhea because its not like water as it holds its texture firmly in the toilet. I regularly go every morning and sometimes again during the day.

I am most worried they may have missed something during my colonoscopy and maybe i have cancer at worst. The only digestional problem i have is typically lots of gas. No cramps, no bloating, no pain, etc... just gas. Can colon cancer show no signs of symptoms other than change in stoll size or do people typically have another symptom? The reason i have put off going to a Dr. so far is that i feel fine, i have plenty of energy to run, play sports, and i already had a colonscopy a few years ago.

I have read about IBS and i think i may have that because certain foods can really instantly mess up my system. Is there a accurate way to diagnose this yourself or is getting a Dr. to check the only sure way?