It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bowel Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2008, 05:46 PM   #1
(female)

helena72 HB User
Just need ostomy experienced friends to advise.

Hi, this is my first time to ever post any kind of question on the internet. I am almost 73 years old, female. In May of 08 I had a terrible abdominal infection. Diverticulitis and a "tunnel" it had made into the bladder. I suffered for many months and no one knew what was causing it. Then one monrning I got up with hight fever and such weakness that I could'nt walk to the kitchen. My feces was being lost through the urethera. Long story, short I went to the em and was immediaterly given antibotics, blood, etc., and scheduled for surgery the next morning. They first did the bladder cleaning out, repairs and such, then scheduled me for colon surgery two days later. I hardly remember waking up. When I did I learned that I had a colostomy bag. To say I was in shock is to put it mildly. Scared for the next three days and almost in a coma.

I remained there for the next 13 days. Hardly able to sit sideways, much less walk. I finally made it on my feet long enough to get them to dismiss me. They did, with catheter intact and a health nurse coming daily to show me how to change the bag which I still couldn't accept as part of me. I hate this being so long but I want you all to know that you are not the only ones who have denied this attachment to your bodies.

It took me about a month to get to the point that I could manage the thing.