It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bowel Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2009, 07:41 AM   #1
(female)

TriciaR HB User
Urgency after sphincterotomy

Hello,

I'm new to this particular board and see that there are quite a few people who have had this operation. I too, had a long bout with anal fissures and after trying other medical means without success had this operation 5 days ago. My surgeon is a colo-rectal surgeon and comes highly recommended.
He said he only cuts a very very small area and has done many of these. I also had skin tags (rather large ones) removed.

Anyway, post op just a few questions; pain has subsided and I believe was mostly caused by the skin tags. There is very little pain with movements but definite urgency. I believe I would have an accident if a bathroom wasn't readily available. I have not gone back to work yet but have plans this weekend (Labor Day weekend) and am petrified of not having a bathroom nearby. Did anyone have urgency after this operation and am I being too impatient in expecting to have great control already? I'm scared that this could become long term!

Finally, one note, 5 days post, yesterday, I had a sudden huge gush of bleeding; I called the surgeon immediately and he said a suture must have burst. I was panicking but it subsided and I didn't have to go to the ER. The suture he said, was on a large skin tag. I'm adding this in case anyone else has this happen and freaks out like I did.

Thanks in advance for any comments!

Old 10-01-2009, 08:11 AM   #2
(male)

Gondore HB User
Re: Urgency after sphincterotomy

Quote:
Originally Posted by TriciaR View Post
Hello,